Random Musings for the Weekend…

Since our kitchen is mid-remodeling, I have been relying on store-bought, cold pressed juices for the past couple of weeks…

Let’s just say that I’m looking forward to making my own juices again.  I tried several different kinds.  Not the crap from Naked or Odawalla, that are loaded with not so good ingredients.  Rather, these were cold pressed creations from Evolution, Suja and Blue something.  They average 6 – 8 bucks per 16 oz bottle, and you really never know how old they are…

Oh well, they have sufficed in a pinch, but I prefer making my own…

****

Not having a kitchen has also presented challenges with respect to preparing vegan friendly meals at home, too.  I cooked in advance a large quantity of chili, and a huge pan of lasagna, since both keep well for a long period of time.  Alas, we ate the last of the chili on Friday.  What to do…

I have an industrial sized (8 quart) slow cooker, so I can cook the diced tomatoes and various kinds of beans.  However, the bell peppers, celery, garlic and onions are just not as good,in chili, if they are not semi-carmelized in a saute pan before stirring them into the beans.  Oh, yeah…no stove…

The the light bulb clicked on…we DO have a gas grill, and God invented aluminum foil pans for situations like this…I just finished sauteeing a couple of large onions 4 large red and green bell peppers, a bunch of celery and a dozen cloves of garlic, all nicely chopped, in a large foil pan, in olive oil, pepper and sea salt for about 20 minutes.  Let me tell you…fire roasted vegetables and chili go together like peas and carrots…

Image

Here is the chili after adding the freshly roasted vegetables…the only thing left is to add the pressed, crumbled tofu…

Image

****

The last word:   The only bad thing about Indian cuisine is that it took me 55 years and becming a vegan to incorporate it into my palate, and discover how delicious and exotic it is…

Have a great rest of your weekend…

Namaste,

Vegain’t

Leave a Reply

